Usman Shinwari, playing only his second ODI, picked up five wickets to complete a 5-0 whitewash. © Getty Images

Usman Shinwari, playing only his second ODI, picked up five wickets to complete a 5-0 whitewash. © Getty Images

Usman Shinwari’s maiden five-wicket haul (5 for 34) in the fifth and final One-Day International in Sharjah on Monday (October 23) set up Pakistan’s nine-wicket win, thus handing Sri Lanka their third 5-0 whitewash in the format in 2017.

Earlier this year, Sri Lanka lost all five ODIs on their tour to South Africa and then, before coming to the United Arab Emirates, they were thrashed 5-0 at home by India. Prior to 2017, Sri Lanka had been whitewashed only once in a five-match ODI series – in 2014, in India.

This was Sri Lanka’s 12th defeat on the trot, making it their second-worst streak in ODIs. They had lost 14 consecutive ODIs between 1987 and 1988, including all the five games in the 1987 World Cup.

For Pakistan, this was the sixth occasion – and only the second if one excludes Zimbabwe and Bangladesh – when they swept the opposition in a five-match series.

Pakistan winning all five ODIs of a bilateral series

Opposition Venue Season
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe 2002-03
Bangladesh Pakistan 2003
New Zealand Pakistan 2003-04
Zimbabwe Pakistan 2007-08
Bangladesh Pakistan 2007-08
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka 2017-18

Pakistan have now extended their winning streak in ODIs to nine. Their last defeat came against India in Birmingham in the group stages of the Champions Trophy in June.

In the third match of the series in Abu Dhabi, Hasan Ali became the fastest for Pakistan to reach the 50-wicket landmark in ODIs when he got rid of Akila Dananjaya. He achieved this feat in his 24th ODI, bettering Waqar Younis’s record of 27 matches. Overall, he is joint-fourth on the list headed by Ajantha Mendis (19 matches).

By the end of the series, the Pakistani pacer had 56 wickets in 26 ODIs at an average of 19.82 and at the top of the ICC’s ODI rankings for bowlers. His 45 wickets this calendar year are also the most by any bowler.

Fastest to 50 ODI wickets

Player Mat Opposition Ground Match Date
Ajantha Mendis (SL) 19 Zimbabwe Dhaka January 12, 2009
Ajit Agarkar (Ind) 23 Zimbabwe Harare September 30, 1998
Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ) 23 South Africa Mount Maunganui October 24, 2014
Dennis Lillee (Aus) 24 India Sydney December 18, 1980
Hasan Ali (Pak) 24 Sri Lanka Abu Dhabi October 18, 2017

When Sarfraz Ahmed caught Dushmantha Chameera behind the stumps in the third match in Abu Dhabi, he became the fifth Pakistani to effect 100 ODI dismissals. Moin Khan, with 287 dismissals, is the most successful wicketkeeper for Pakistan in ODI cricket.

Most dismissals by a Pakistani wicketkeeper

Player Mat Inns Dis Ct St Dis/Inn
Moin Khan 219 209 287 214 73 1.373
Rashid Latif 166 164 220 182 38 1.341
Kamran Akmal 157 151 187 156 31 1.238
Saleem Yousuf 86 86 103 81 22 1.197
Sarfraz Ahmed 80 79 103 81 22 1.303

In the same match, Imam-ul-Haq, the nephew of Inzamam-ul-Haq, became the 13th player in ODI history to score a century on debut, during his 125-ball 100. The only other Pakistani on the list is Saleem Elahi, who scored an unbeaten 102 in Gujranwala in 1995, also against Sri Lanka.

Babar Azam, who scored 303 runs in the series with the help of two centuries, took his overall batting average to 58.60 – second only to Ryan ten Doeschate of the Netherlands among those who have scored at least 1000 runs.

Highest batting average in ODIs

Player Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave SR 100
Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned) 33 32 9 1541 119 67.00 87.70 5
Babar Azam (Pak) 36 35 5 1758 125* 58.60 85.88 7
Virat Kohli (Ind) 200 192 32 8888 183 55.55 91.54 31
AB de Villiers (SA/Afr) 225 215 39 9515 176 54.06 101.07 25
Michael Bevan (Aus) 232 196 67 6912 108* 53.58 74.16 6

Note: Minimum 1000 runs

In the second game of the series in Abu Dhabi, Upul Tharanga became the first Sri Lankan to carry his bat through a completed innings. He is also the only captain on the list, which has just 11 names.

Carrying bat through a completed innings

Player Score Opposition Ground Match Date
Grant Flower (Zim) 84* England Sydney December 15, 1994
Saeed Anwar (Pak) 103* Zimbabwe Harare February 22, 1995
Nick Knight (Eng) 125* Pakistan Nottingham September 1, 1996
Ridley Jacobs (WI) 49* Australia Manchester May 30, 1999
Damien Martyn (Aus) 116* New Zealand Auckland March 3, 2000
Herschelle Gibbs (SA) 59* Pakistan Sharjah March 28, 2000
Alec Stewart (Eng) 100* West Indies Nottingham July 20, 2000
Javed Omar (Ban) 33* Zimbabwe Harare April 8, 2001
Azhar Ali (Pak) 81* Sri Lanka Colombo (RPS) June 16, 2012
Tom Latham (NZ) 79* India Dharamsala October 16, 2016
Upul Tharanga (SL) 112* Pakistan Abu Dhabi October 16, 2017