Salman Butt, along with Mohammad Asif, are going to be a part of the 501-player PSL draft. © Getty Images

Salman Butt, as well as Mohammad Asif, are going to be a part of the 501-player PSL draft. © Getty Images

A total of 501 cricketers – local and overseas – including Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif, the spot-fixing convicts, are going to be a part of the Pakistan Super League Player Draft 2017, scheduled to take place in Lahore on Sunday (November 12).

Warne offered PSL commentary gig
The PCB have offered Shane Warne a deal to be a part of the commentary team for the upcoming third edition of the Pakistan Super League, an official told Wisden Pakistan. “We have approached and offered Warne to do commentary during the PSL next year and it will be an added attraction during the league.”

Like the first two editions, the PCB will handle the production and sell the air-time – DSports will broadcast the tournament in India for the first time.

After the addition of Multan Sultans as the sixth team for the competition’s third edition, in 2018, the five existing franchises were allowed to retain nine players each and asked to release the other nine. The new team has since recruited nine players from among the ones let go.

“Teams have already retained nine players each and will go into the PSL Player Draft 2017 to pick one Platinum, one Diamond, one Gold, two Silver and two Emerging players each in order to complete their squads of 16,” explained a Pakistan Cricket Board statement. “Teams may also pick up to four players in the supplementary rounds.”

Each team will have a salary cap of US$ 1.2 million for their squads of 20 players, the release confirmed.

Butt and Asif, whose bans were completed in September 2015, have been included in the Gold and Silver categories respectively. However, whether they are picked by any of the teams or not remains to be seen.

Top names such as Chris Lynn, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Carlos Brathwaite, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo, Jimmy Neesham, Angelo Mathews, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mitchell Johnson, Mustafizur Rahman, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi, Adil Rashid, Wayne Parnell, Thisara Perera and Colin Ingram will be up for selection at the draft.