Dinesh Chandimal, the Test skipper, was left out of the ODI side to take on India. © Getty Images

Dinesh Chandimal, the Test skipper, was left out of the ODI side to take on India. © Getty Images

Sri Lanka on Tuesday (December 5) left out Dinesh Chandimal, the Test skipper, from their One-Day International squad to face India on the day he brought up his highest score to help his side save face in the third Test.

Asela Gunaratne, the allrounder, and Danushka Gunathilaka, the opening batsman, return to the side that has lost 21 one-day games this year and won just four.

Chandimal, who was last man out for 164 in Sri Lanka’s first innings in New Delhi on Tuesday, is the major victim of the latest changes made to rejuvenate the national fortunes.

Sri Lanka Cricket last week named Thisara Perera as one-day captain in place of Upul Tharanga.

Under Tharanga, Sri Lanka suffered three consecutive ODI whitewashes this year against South Africa, India and Pakistan.

Gunaratne returns to the side for the first time since being injured in July against India in Galle.

He will strengthen the batting order alongside Angelo Mathews, the former skipper who returns having missed the last ODI series against Pakistan through injury.

Sri Lanka and India play ODIs between December 10 and 17 in Dharmasala, Mohali and Visakhapatnam.

Confusion prevails

Dayasiri Jayasekera, the Sri Lankan sports minister, however stopped nine players leaving for India on Tuesday because he was unhappy with the team choice, AFP from Colombo adds, quoting sources.

The nine players were on their way to Colombo airport late on Monday for the overnight flight when they were ordered to return, one of the team told AFP on condition of anonymity.

Sports ministry sources said Jayasekera was incensed that the players had been cleared to leave before he had given formal approval to the team selection.

A 1973 law gives the Sri Lankan sports minister the power to change national teams before they compete.

The ministry sources added that Jayasekera may order at least two changes to the squad named by the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board.

The nine players stopped from leaving included Perera, the captain. The other eight are Tharanga, Gunathilaka, Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya and Nuwan Pradeep.

ODI squad: Thisara Perera (capt), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.