Due to municipal elections the home matches for Delhi, Mumbai and Pune have undergone some changes. © BCCI

Due to municipal elections in the national capital, some matches for Delhi, Mumbai and Pune have been rescheduled. © BCCI

Some of the home matches of Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiant in the Indian Premier League 2017 have undergone minor tweaks because of municipal elections in New Delhi, the Board of Control for Cricket in India confirmed on Monday (March 20).

The game between Delhi and Mumbai, which was to be played at Feroz Shah Kotla from 4pm on April 22 will now be played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai from 8pm the same day. It becomes Mumbai’s home game, while Delhi will now host Mumbai on May 6.

The other game on April 22 – between Pune and Sunrisers Hyderabad – will now start at 4pm instead of 8pm in Pune.

The changes mean that Mumbai, who will play Kings XI Punjab in Indore on April 20, will now return home instead of travelling to the national capital. They will then stay back to take on Pune in another home fixture on April 24.

Delhi, meanwhile, will travel to Mumbai after playing Hyderabad in an away fixture on April 19.

This is not the first time that the IPL schedule has been altered because of external factors. Last year, after a directive from Bombay High Court to the Maharashtra government, a total of 12 matches were shifted out of the drought-hit state. The first half of the 2014 edition and the entire 2009 chapter were held in the United Arab Emirates and South Africa respectively because of the general elections.