Joe Burns will make his One-Day International debut for Australia. © Getty Images

Joe Burns will make his One-Day International debut for Australia. © Getty Images

Preview | Scorecard

Toss: Steven Smith called right as Australia elected to bat in the one-off One-Day International against Ireland in Belfast on Thursday (August 27). Heavy morning showers delayed the toss by over an hour, and meant the match has been reduced to 47-overs-a-side.

Team news

Australia: Smith officially takes charge as full-time Australia captain following Clarke’s retirement. There’s a debut for Joe Burns, who impressed for Australia A during their tour of India last month. He will open the batting with David Warner, while George Bailey, the limited-overs specialist and former captain, also slots into the middle order along with Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson, Matthew Wade, Pat Cummins and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Ireland: Three senior players in George Dockrell, Kevin O’Brien and Max Sorensen miss out due to injuries. With the recently retired Alex Cusack also absent, the home side are considerably light on experience. Stuart Thompson, McBrine and Craig Young have an opportunity to impress.

What they said

Steven Smith: The last time this group was together, we won a World Cup, so I don’t think we have to change a whole heap. We’re currently No.1 in the world. I think for us now, it’s just about raising that bar and continuing to get better each day.

William Porterfield: We want to be playing regularly against top sides and these fixtures are a very welcome first step.

Weather conditions:

With showers expected later in the afternoon, there could be further interruptions. That means the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method sheets could be referred to quite frequently by both sides during the course of the day.


Ireland: William Porterfield (capt), Niall O’Brien (wk), Ed Joyce, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson, Andrew Balbirnie, Stuart Thompson, John Mooney, Andy McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Craig Young.

Australia: Joe Burns, David Warner, Steven Smith (capt), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile,Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins.