Tim Southee replaced Adam Milne as New Zealand opted to bowl in the third T20I. © BCCI

Tim Southee replaced Adam Milne as New Zealand opted to bowl in the third T20I. © BCCI

Preview | Scorecard

Toss: Kane Williamson, the New Zealand captain, won the toss and opted to bowl against India in the third and final Twenty20 International at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Tuesday (November 7).

Team news

India: IN: Manish Pandey, Kuldeep Yadav. OUT: Axar Patel, Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand: IN: Tim Southee. OUT: Adam Milne

What they said

Kane Williamson: Not sure about the surface, it’s an eight-over game, but at the end of the day, it’s still a game and a decider. We have to show plenty of intensity with the ball. One change, Tim Southee replaces Adam Milne who is not well.

Virat Kohli: We would have bowled first too, it looks like a damp wicket as there was no sun. There’s some moisture on the surface and we will have to put up a big score and then restrict them. The crowd has waited patiently and deserves to see a game.

Series: After winning a very competitive ODI series 2-1, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan, the openers, set up a comprehensive 53-run win in the first T20I in Delhi with a record 158-run stand. New Zealand hit back in Rajkot to win the game by 40 runs, Colin Munro starring with an unbeaten 109 to set up the decider.

Conditions: There is a bit of moisture around the ground on account of consistent rains over the past few days. Persistent rains delayed the start by two and a half hours today. The match was truncated to an eight-overs-a-side affair. There are some cracks on the surface, which should aid spinners. This is the first match in this stadium.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Bruce, Glenn Phillips (wk), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi.