Ekta Bisht (second from right) took 2 for 10 to help Railways win against Bengal. © Getty Images

Ekta Bisht (second from right) took 2 for 10 to help Railways win against Bengal. © Getty Images

Railways and Madhya Pradesh secured four points each in the Elite Super League stage of the Senior Women’s T20 League 2016-17 on Wednesday (January 11), beating Bengal and Hyderabad respectively.

Railways v Bengal
Railways prolonged their undefeated streak, when they completed a dominating nine-wicket win against Bengal at the Railway Cricket Ground in Rajkot.

Just like in the match against Madhya Pradesh on Tuesday, Bengal lost three quick wickets to slump to 26 for 3 in 8.4 overs. Priyanka Roy, who top-scored with 35 from 38, was the lone point of resistance. She opened the batting and stayed till the 17th over, but with only Richa Sharma managing to get into double figures (16 off 24), Bengal’s innings didn’t really take off.

Prativa Rana, Roy’s opening partner, could make only 3 from 26 balls as Bengal scored at below three an over during the Power Play overs. Rana was the first to fall, caught off Soni Yadav (1 for 10). Bengal soon lost two more wickets in the next two overs. Sharma, in at No.5, then shared in a 36-run stand with Roy, the best stand of the innings.

But Bengal’s hope of finishing with the flourish was put to rest when Ekta Bisht (2 for 10) accounted for Jhulan Goswami (3), the skipper, and Roy off consecutive deliveries to restrict Bengal to 82 for 6 in their 20 overs.

In reply, Punam Raut (28 off 23) and Thirush Kamini (35 not out off 38) ensured Railways had a substantial start, putting on 35 runs in six overs before Raut was run out, having hit four boundaries and a six in her knock.

Niranjana Nagarajan (21 not out off 22) then joined Kamini in an unbeaten 49-run stand and the duo ensured Railways coasted over the line in just 13.5 overs, with nine wickets in the bag.

Brief scores: Bengal 82/6 in 20 overs (Priyanka Roy 35; Ekta Bisht 2-10, Soni Yadav 1-10) lost to Railways 84/1 in 13.5 overs (Thirush Kamini 35 n.o., Punam Raut 28) by nine wickets.

Madhya Pradesh v Hyderabad
A late-order collapse by Hyderabad allowed Madhya Pradesh to clinch a tense 10-run win and grab four points at the Railway Cricket Ground in Rajkot.

Tamanna Nigam’s 32 off 24 had driven Madhya Pradesh to 122 for 6 after they were put in to bat, and Nidhi Buley, the captain, then took 3 for 12 as Hyderabad’s innings ended on 112 for 8 despite Arundhati Reddy’s run-a-ball 37.

Madhya Pradesh lost Deepika Shakya (1) and Ruchita Buley (5) early to be in some trouble at 19 for 2 in 5.1 overs. That’s when Nigam joined Nikita Singh for a stabilising 20-run stand. Nikita was run out however, in the 10th over. But contributions from Buley (17), Tarang Jha (15 not out) and Priti Yadav kept the innings going, with Nigam leading the way. She hit four boundaries and kept busy, before falling to Gorentla Praneesha in the 15th over.

Priti’s late strikes gave Madhya Pradesh a vital finishing kick, as they ended with a good total.

Hyderabad began well in their pursuit, with D Ramya (15 off 10) and Himani Yadav putting on 24 in 25 balls. Reddy joined Himani in a 40-run stand off just 36 balls and Hyderabad looked well on course, even when Himani (18 off 28) fell. Ananya Upendran (9 off 11) and Reddy were steady in their third-wicket stand, but once Upendran fell, Hyderabad lost their way. They went from 83 for 2 to 93 for 5 in the space of two overs, and then continued losing wickets.

Buley had started the collapse by getting Upendran caught, and the key strike came an over later with Reddy also dismissed.

Three run-outs made matters more difficult for Hyderabad, as they fell short by 10 runs, allowing Madhya Pradesh to climb to the second position.

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 122/6 in 20 overs (Tamanna Nigam 32, Nikita Singh 20, Arundathi Reddy 1-14) beat Hyderabad (Arundathi Reddy 37; Nidhi Buley 3-12) by 10 runs.

Plate League Quarter Finals
1 – Baroda rode on Heena Patel’s steady unbeaten 34 off 40 deliveries to defeat Haryana by six wickets with three balls to spare to qualify for the semifinals.

2 – S Shubha and Rakshitha K added 109 runs for the fourth wicket to script Karnataka’s 35-run victory over Saurashtra, becoming the second team from the plate league to qualify for the final four.