Kevin Pietersen's addition will add experience to the England Test squad. © Getty Images

The England selectors today announced that Kevin Pietersen has been added to the Test squad as its 17th member for the forthcoming tour of India.

The decision was made after Pietersen met with Andy Flower, Alastair Cook and a number of other senior players and members of England team management in Oxford earlier this week.

“We were keen that Kevin should hold a series of face-to-face meetings with team management and senior players before the Test squad departs for the UAE and India next week,” said Hugh Morris, England and Wales Cricket Board Managing Director – England Cricket.

“The meetings were constructive and cordial and all outstanding issues have been resolved. All the England players and management are now keen to draw a line under this matter and fully focus on the cricketing challenge that lies ahead in India.”

Pietersen also met with ECB officials on the sidelines of the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, where he was working as a studio expert with the host broadcasters. He is currently representing Indian Premier League side Delhi Daredevils at the Champions League Twenty20 in South Africa.

Reacting to the news of his selection for the India Test tour, Pietersen tweeted: “BOOOOOOOOM!! The happiest days of my career have been playing cricket for ENG. Long may that continue! Thanks everyone for your kind words.”

Geoff Miller, the ECB National Selector, added that everyone was happy to welcome Pietersen back into the Test squad, especially for such an important series. “As we anticipate that Ian Bell will return home for the birth of his first child around the time of the second Test in Mumbai, the team will benefit from having an extra batsman in the squad and all players who were originally selected for the tour will fly out as planned next week. Kevin will join up with the squad as soon as his Champions League commitments are complete,” said Miller.

England squad: Alastair Cook (capt), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Nick Compton, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Monty Panesar, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott.