File Photo: Himanshu Rana made 51 as India beat Nepal for their second win in the tournament. © Haryana Cricket Association

Himanshu Rana will lead the India U-19 four-day side in England. © Haryana Cricket Association

Himanshu Rana, the Haryana batsman, will lead the India Under-19 team for the two four-day matches in England in July-August, before Mumbai’s Prithvi Shaw takes charge for the five one-day fixtures between the two teams.

The All-India Junior Selection Committee, headed by Venkatesh Prasad, met on Friday (June 16) and picked 15-member squads for the two series.

The long-format team, which has nine players in common with the team to be led by Shaw, will take part in a two-day warm-up match starting July 19 at National Cricket Performance Centre in Loughborough before their first four-day game from July 23, said a Board of Control for Cricket in India statement. The five-match one-day series starts in Cardiff on August 7.

Rana, who has turned out for Haryana in 12 Ranji Trophy matches since debuting in the 2014-15 season and has scored 697 runs, has been a picture of consistency with the U-19 side over the last year. When England came across earlier this year, Rana scored a century and a half-century in the 50-over series, though he didn’t take part in the longer-version matches.

Shaw, who made his Ranji Trophy debut as a 17-year-old last season, has 239 runs from two first-class outings – including 120 in his second innings on debut and 71 and 44 in his second match, also the 2016-17 Ranji final. More recently, he scored 31 and 34 in his two innings at the Emerging Teams Cup in Bangladesh in March this year.

Squad for four-day matches: Himanshu Rana (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Manjot Kalra, Riyan Parag Das, S Radhakrishnan, Harvik Desai, Het Patel, Harsh Tyagi, Ashok Sandhu, Rahul Chahar, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Darshan Nalkande, Vivekanand Tiwari.
Squad for one-day matches: Prithvi Shaw (capt), Shubman Gill, Himanshu Rana, S Radhakrishnan, Salman Khan, Abhishek Sharma, Harvik Desai, Het Patel, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh, Rahul Chahar, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Yash Thakur, Ishan Porel.

Both Rana and Shaw were included in both the squads, as were Shubman Gill, the Punjab batsman, and Rahul Chahar, the Rajasthan legspinner who played three games for Rising Pune Supergiant in the 2017 Indian Premier League.

S Radhakrishnan, the batting-allrounder from Tamil Nadu, Harvik Desai, the Saurshtra top-order batsman, Het Patel, the Gujarat wicketkeeper-batsman, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, the medium-pacer from Rajasthan, and Shivam Mavi, the Uttar Pradesh medium-pacer, were the other players named in both the teams.

Mayank Rawat, who featured in the one-day series against England with mediocre returns, was the notable omission from the squads.

When the England Under-19s travelled to India earlier this year, the two four-day games ended in draws, while India won the one-day series 3-1.

Interesingly, Rahul Dravid, the India U-19 – as well as India A – coach till March this year, hasn’t had his contract extended, and there was no clarity on whether he will helm the team on its tour of England.

Dates Fixture Venue
July 19-20 Two-day warm-up match Loughborough
July 23-26 First four-day match Chesterfield
July 31-August 3 Second four-day match Worcester
August 7 First one-day match Cardiff
August 9 Second one-day match Canterbury
August 12 Third one-day match Hove
August 14 Fourth one-day match Bristol
August 16 Fifth one-day match Taunton