Australia’s depth of cricketing talent will be on show at the 2016-17 Matador BBQs One-Day Cup, which begins this weekend in Brisbane and Perth.

The six state sides – reigning champions New South Wales Blues, myFootDr Queensland Bulls, West End Redbacks, Tasmanian Tigers, Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers, Alcohol.Think Again Western Warriors – plus a Cricket Australia XI (CA XI) comprised of a group of emerging talent, will feature in the three-week tournament.

The first match will be played on Saturday, with the Bulls taking on the CA XI at Allan Border Field in Brisbane. The first game in Perth will be played on Sunday, between Western Australia and South Australia at the WACA.

Matches will be played in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney, with the Matador BBQs Cup played in a carnival format to best replicate conditions of International Cricket Council tournaments.

Cricket Australia National Selector, Rod Marsh, said:

“For many years now, the domestic one-day competition has been a breeding ground for producing exceptional limited-overs cricketers for Australia,” Marsh said.

“Again this year, squads feature plenty of experienced cricketers, both at international and domestic level, as well as some exciting young players who will no doubt have important roles to play for Australia in years to come.”

Two members of Australia’s ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 winning squad, Bushrangers allrounder Glenn Maxwell and Tigers spinner Xavier Doherty, will feature, alongside a host of big names including Adam Voges, Moises Henriques, Nathan Lyon and Joe Burns.

While Australia’s ODI side compete in South Africa, the Matador BBQs Cup provides an opportunity for future Australian ODI stars to hone their skills and push their case for national selection ahead of another big summer of cricket.

“Selectors will be keeping a close eye, as always, on performances in the Matador BBQs Cup, especially with the Victoria Bitter ODI Series against New Zealand and Pakistan and Qantas ODI Tour of New Zealand in the coming months.”

Thirteen Matador BBQs Cup matches – including three day-night fixtures and four Perth matches in prime-time for the eastern seaboard – will be broadcast live and in HD on the Nine Network.

To view the full fixture click here.