The 4th Edition of Bangladesh Premier League T20 is set to kick off on 04 November 2016. The BPL Governing Council of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has decided to hold the player draft of the event on 30 September 2016. There will be seven teams in this season’s BPL. Khulna and Rajshahi have returned as franchises to join Comilla Victorians, Barisal Bulls, Rangpur Riders, Dhaka Dynamites and Chittagong Vikings. Sylhet Super Stars meanwhile, will not be a part of the BPL 4th Edition after its contract was terminated for breaching franchisee agreement terms.

The BCB had invited Expression of Interest for franchisee rights of Rajshahi and Khulna and subsequently four (04) organisations – GEMCON Group, Mango Entertainment Ltd, Tanveer Food Ltd (A concern of Meghna Group of Industries) and LABAID Group, have been shortlisted after scrutiny. GEMCON Group and Mango Entertainment Ltd have specifically expressed interest in owning the Khulna and Rajshahi franchises respectively. The BCB will announce the names of the successful franchises after the Eid-ul-Adha break.