Amir comes in for Pakistan as they are asked to bat first against unchanged India in the finals of Champions Trophy 2017. © Getty Images

India won the toss and opted to field in the Champions Trophy final against Pakistan, who brought back the fit-again Mohammad Amir in place of Rumman Raees. © Getty Images

Preview | Scorecard

Toss: Virat Kohli, the India captain, won the toss and opted to field against Pakistan in the final of the Champions Trophy 2017 at The Oval in London on Sunday (June 18).

Team news
India: Unchanged.
Pakistan: IN: Mohammad Amir; OUT: Rumman Raees.

What they said
Virat Kohli: Not a used pitch, it’s dry and we would like to see how it works. We love chasing. I have played quite a few games here, so one more effort to go and I am sure they (Pakistan) will be a different team. The guys are willing to give it their best shot. We don’t take any opposition for granted, we haven’t throughout the tournament and we have been playing to our strengths. No matter what the opposition brings we are ready and hopefully we can do it again.
Sarfraz Ahmed: We would have liked to bowl first as well, but the toss is not in our hands. I am very proud of the boys, we have played positive cricket. Mohammad Amir is back and is playing today.

Tournament: The mother of all battles, and it’s a match-up not many would have predicted when India beat Pakistan convincingly in the opening group-stage match for either side. Since then, though, Pakistan have scripted a remarkable turnaround, capped by the win over England in the semifinal, while India did stutter against Sri Lanka in a Group B game, but have been outstanding all the way otherwise, sealing their spot in the final after a comprehensive nine-wicket win over Bangladesh in their semifinal.

Conditions: It’s 32 degrees in London and there’s a bit of grass on the pitch; not live grass, though, since the sun has been beating down on the strip. It’s a fresh and dry pitch that has not been used in the tournament so far, and the drone pitch analysis showed darker ends at the edges and it remains to be seen if Pakistan can get the ball to reverse. Overall, it’s a belter of a pitch, says Nasser Hussain.

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (capt), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.
Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt, wk), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Hasan Alim Junaid Khan.