Shreyas Iyer made up for his first-innings duck with an unbeaten half-century as Mumbai extended their lead to 307 against Andhra. © AFP

Shreyas Iyer made up for his first-innings duck with an unbeaten half-century as Mumbai extended their lead to 307 against Andhra. © AFP

Shreyas Iyer put Mumbai in a position of dominance against Andhra, while Tamil Nadu got a slim but crucial first-innings lead against Madhya Pradesh on the third day of the sixth-round 2017-18 Ranji Trophy Group C matches on Sunday (November 19). In the third match of the group, Odisha were inching slowly towards Baroda’s first-innings total through a dogged effort from Subhranshu Senapati.

Andhra v Mumbai in Ongole
Shardul Thakur’s five-for ensured Andhra were bowled out for 215, handing Mumbai a precious first-innings lead of 117 which they built on in the second innings through Iyer’s unbeaten half-century at the CSR Sharma College ground.

With a lead of 307 runs, Mumbai were firmly in the driver’s seat at stumps with 190 for 4 in the second innings, Iyer unbeaten on 75 with Aditya Tare, the captain, for company.

After Andhra started the third day on 74 for 2, G Hanuma Vihari and Ricky Bhui both struck half-centuries in their 131-run stand for the third wicket. Vihari’s milestone came up in 110 balls with six fours while Bhui reached the landmark in 88 balls, including 10 boundaries. The partnership was broken with Vihari’s dismissal by Shardul for 70 off 154 balls and Dhawal Kulkarni then sent Bhui back for 69 off 132 balls to push Andhra back.

B Sumanth made a handy contribution of 28 off 41 balls with five boundaries but no other Andhra batsman could build on the Vihari-Bhui stand and the lower order was cleaned up by Shardul and Kulkarni, leaving KV Sasikanth unbeaten on 12.

Shardul had 5 for 55 in 23 overs while Kulkarni finished with 3 for 44 in 19 overs.

In Mumbai’s second outing, Jay Bista made up for his poor showing in the first innings with a quick 36 off 34 balls while Prithvi Shaw managed 21 off 32 balls. Iyer then held the batting together with his half-century after his first-innings duck and put up partnerships of 61 and 44 with Suryakumar Yadav (33) and Siddhesh Lad (22) respectively that pushed Mumbai’s lead past 300.

Baroda v Odisha in Vadodara
It was a painstaking effort from Odisha as they continued to trail Baroda by 187 runs on the first innings on the third day, with Senapati at the helm of their effort, digging in with an unbeaten century at the Reliance Stadium.

At stumps, Odisha were 316 for 5 in their first innings in reply to Baroda’s 503, with Senapati unbeaten on 131 and Rajesh Dhuper on 13. Odisha scored just 252 for 3 on the day in 88 overs.

Odisha began the day on 64 for 2 with Senapati on seven and Natraj Behera was on 24 but the latter was dismissed just five balls into the morning by Vishnu Solanki. Senapati and Shantanu Mishra then put on a 95-run stand with Mishra scoring 46 off 113 balls, including eight boundaries. Senapati himself reached his half-century just before the lunch break in 112 balls.

After Mishra’s dismissal, it was the turn of Biplab Samantray to play the supporting act for Senapati and he scored 55 in a 109-ball effort that included six boundaries and a six, his half-century coming just after Senapati got to three figures for the second time in his first-class career.

Madhya Pradesh v Tamil Nadu in Indore
Tamil Nadu recovered brilliantly to post a total of 326 for a first-innings lead of 62 runs after centuries from N Jagadeesan and Vijay Kumar Yo Mahesh before MP went 80 runs ahead through the efforts of Rajat Patidar and Shubham Sharma at Holkar Stadium.

At stumps, MP were 142 for 1 in their second innings, with Patidar and Shubham unbeaten on 81 and 41 respectively.

Resuming on a precarious 191 for 6 in response to MP’s 264, Jagadeesan, who started the day on 94, reached his century off 141 balls but was soon dismissed by Avesh Khan for 101 with the knock including 13 fours. The stand between Jagadeesan and Yo Mahesh was worth 124 runs and the latter carried on after the loss of his partner.

M Mohammed chipped in with a handy 43 off 69 balls, including five boundaries and one six in a partnership worth 84 runs with YoMahesh, and Tamil Nadu crossed 300 and Yo Mahesh for to his century as Mihir Hirwani and Ankit Sharma wrapped up the lower order. Yo Mahesh remained unbeaten on 103 off 214 balls with seven fours and five sixes.

Ishwar Pandey and Puneet Datey weren’t able to add to their tally from the previous day as Pandey finished with 3 for 67 and Datey 3 for 55. Hirwani’s figures read 2 for 42.

With a slim lead in hand, K Vignesh got the first breakthrough with the wicket of Aditya Srivastava the 12th over but Patidar and Shubham didn’t give the TN bowlers much else with their unbroken century partnership.