Prithvi Shaw © Wisden India

Prithvi Shaw continued with his impressive run in the second innings with an aggressive 46 to help Mumbai extend the lead to 202. © Wisden India

It was advantage Mumbai against Odisha, with the bowlers making merry, while Baroda continued their dominating performance with the bat against Tripura in Group C. Down south, it was slow progress for Andhra against Madhya Pradesh on the second day of play in the fourth round of the Ranji Trophy 2017-18 on Thursday (November 2). 

Mumbai v Odisha in Bhubaneswar
Mumbai ended the second day with a lead of 202 runs after suffering a brief stutter in their second innings at the KIIT Stadium.

At stumps, Mumbai were 58 for 3 with Suryakumar Yadav and Dhawal Kulkarni in the middle. Prithvi Shaw was at his aggressive best at the top once again with a 45-ball 46 before Deepak Behera, the medium pacer cut his innings short. Akhil Herwadkar (3) was the first to fall after being run out by Suryakant Pradhan, and Ajinkya Rahane lasted only five balls before getting trapped leg before for nought by Basant Mohanty to Mumbai at 55 for 3.

Earlier in the day, Mumbai carried on from their overnight score of 264 for 6 and Aditya Tare, who was unbeaten on 28, added just four more to his overnight score before being castled by Pradhan, the medium pacer. Tare’s partner, Akash Parkar was the last wicket to fall after the tail barely offered any fight to be all out for 289 from 99.5 overs.

In reply, Odisha were bundled out for 145 in just 50.5 overs with Biplab Samantray contributing to almost half the team’s total with 72 off 129 deliveries. Barring Santanu Mishra (36) and Deepak Behera (28), the rest of the batsmen failed to get going.

For Mumbai, Abhishek Nayar, the medium pacer, and Vijay Gohil, the left-arm spinner picked up three wickets each, while Dhawal Kulkarni and Shardul Thakur, the fast bowlers shared two wickets apiece.

Baroda v Tripura in Vadodara
Tripura have an uphill task on their hands as they trail Baroda by 458 runs at the Reliance Stadium.

At stumps, Tripura were 63 for 1 from 25 overs, with Bishal Ghosh and Udiyan Bose seeing them through. Samrat Singha, the opener gave them a brisk start before falling to Atit Seth for 48 off 61 balls.

Earlier, resuming at their overnight score of 304 for 5, Abhijit Karambelkar and Mitesh Patel, who saw Baroda through on the first day, went on to make 86 and 76 respectively. While Abhijit Sarkar, the medium pacer accounted for Karambelkar, Rana Dutta, the right-arm seamer, dismissed Mitesh. To add to Tripura’s misery, Atit, the medium pacer, put the long handle to good use to score an unbeaten 95, and in the company of Sagar Mangalorkar (35), the duo added 63 for the ninth wicket as Baroda amassed 521 from 152.2 overs.

Andhra v Madhya Pradesh in Vizianagaram
A disciplined effort from Madhya Pradesh bowlers helped them finish the second day with a flourish against Andhra at the Dr PVG Raju ACA Sports Complex.

Andhra were reduced to 177 for 5 to trail by 144 runs with Dwaraka Ravi Teja and Ashwin Hebbar in the middle. Hanuma Vihari’s patient 77 off 132 balls and Bodapati Sumanth (57 off 90 balls) gave the hosts a solid platform, but MP scalped the duo in a space of six overs towards the fag end of day’s play.

Mihir Hirwani, the legspinner, picked up two wickets, while Ishwar Pandey and Puneet Datey, the medium pacers, had one wicket apiece.

Resuming their innings from 219 for 5, Harpeet Singh, who was unbeaten on 47 went on to make 88 before falling to Ravi Teja. Soon after Harpreet’s dismissal, Bandaru Aiyappa, the medium pacer, cleaned up the tail as MP finished with 321 all out in 122.5 overs.

Yarra Prithviraj, the left-arm pacer, was the pick of Andhra bowlers finishing with 4 for 56, while Aiyappa and KV Sasikanth, the medium pacers picked up two wickets each.