KL Rahul was included in India’s XI. © BCCI


Toss: Virat Kohli, the India captain, won the toss and opted to field first against Sri Lanka in the first One-Day International in Dambulla on Sunday (August 20).

Team news
India: Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul return to the side. Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kuldeep Yadav and Shardul Thakur sit out.

Sri Lanka:
 Lasith Malinga, Chamara Kapugedara and Thisara Perera come into the side. Vishwa Fernando will make his debut.

What they said
Virat Kohli: We’re going to field first. We haven’t played at this venue in a long time, but last evening when we had our practice the ball was coming on well. The pitch doesn’t have as much grass cover as when we last played here in 2010. You have a bit of advantage winning the toss. But you have to execute your skills. I was sitting on the same chair I was sitting nine years ago. Have some happy memories. The idea is to improve even after we have won games. As I said, you have to start well, be boring at times.

Upul Tharanga:  We were going to bat first. We saw in the last series that the team batting first got good scores. I told the boys we have to move on from the Test series and focus on this. There is a lot of confidence in the side. Lasith Malinga, Chamara Kapugedara and Thisara Perera are some of the senior players coming in. Vishwa Fernando, who played the last Test, will make his (ODI) debut.

Series: This is the first of five One-Day Internationals. The preceding three-match Test series was a lopsided affair, with the visitors winning all games by huge margins. The teams will also play a one-off T20I following the conclusion of the ODIs.

Conditions:  Conditions are expected to be good for batting, but there might be a hint of movement for the seamers, although there isn’t as much grass cover. It is warm and humid. Some showers are to be expected, but the forecast remains promising for better part of the day.

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga (capt), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Wanidu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Vishwa Fernando.

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.