By M. Shamil Amit

An all-round performance by Sammu Ashan and a four-wicket haul by left-arm spinner Damitha Silva, supported by a match-winning unbeaten knock by Ashen Bandara, helped Sri Lanka Under 19 to a comfortable six-wicket win over the visiting South Africa Under 19s in the final Youth ODI match played at the SSC ground on Wednesday, to take the series 2-1.

Sri Lanka U19s run chase of 195 saw the host side being made to fight hard for their runs as they fell into deep trouble with the score reading 99 for four in the 25th over.

Sammu joined by Ashen Bandara, who has a had fairly good series, denied any further success to the Junior Proteas’ bowlers as the duo frustrated them after William Sendin and skipper Wiaan Mulder shared four wickets to have the host side in a spot of bother.

Sammu cracked an unbeaten 70 which had four boundaries and a six while Ashen remained unbeaten on 37, comprising of two boundaries, as the pair associated in an unbroken 100-run stand for the fifth-wicket enabling the host to reach the target in the 46th over.

Earlier in the day South Africa skipper Wiaan Mulder winning the toss and electing to take first lease of the wicket saw his team get off to a sedate start with the openers Wandile Makwetu and Ricardo Vasconcelos putting on 38 runs.

They lost two quick wickets for the addition of just five runs before skipper Wiaan came to the rescue with a valuable 70 runs for the fourth wicket with Raynard van Tonder.

That is all they were able to achieve as the late order batting failed to make any impression as spinner Damitha who ended with a impressive figures of 4 for 38 and Sammu, supporting by bagging three wickets, combined to restrict the visitors to a score of 195 for 9 which proved to be insufficient.

South Africa U19 195 for 9 in 50 overs (Wiaan Mulder 59, Raynard van Tonder 37, Wandile Makwetu 26, Eathan Bosch 20, Kenan Smith 20: Damitha Silva 4 for 48, Sammu Ashan 3 for 38)

Sri Lanka U19 199 for 4 in 45.4 overs (Shanmuganathan Shanogeeth 41, Avishka Fernando 16, Sammu Ashan 70 n.o., Ashen Bandara 37 n.o.: Wiaan Mulder 2 for 32, William Sendin 2 for 33)