Uncapped fast bowler Wikum Sanjaya has been included in the 15-man Sri Lanka Squad for the three-match Test series against South Africa starting later this month.

© Getty Images

Angelo Mathews returns to the squad after missing the tour of Zimbabwe last month. © Getty Images

The 24-year-old seamer who plays First Class cricket for the BRC recorded his best bowling figures last weekend when he took six for 73 against Army SC in the first innings.

He has featured in 17 First Class matches and has taken 38 scalps so far. He joins the five-man seam attack headed by Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal Nuwan Pradeep, and Lahiru Kumara.

With Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal and Dushmantha Chameera returning to the side after injury lay-offs, the selectors have dropped Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickewella, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Madushanka and Lahiru Gamage for the South Africa series which will start with the Boxing Day Test at Port Elizabeth.

The Sri Lanka probable squad: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dilruwan Perera, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal and Wikum Sanjaya.