Windies Women are the defending champions. © ICC

Windies Women are the defending champions. © ICC

India will take on New Zealand in the opening game of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in a Group B fixture in Georgetown, Guyana, on November 9. Also on day one of the tournament that ends on November 24, Australia, Pakistan and hosts Windies will be in action. While Australia run into Pakistan, also in Group B, the host nation will lock horns with Qualifier 1 in the last game of the day.

All matches of the first standalone Women’s World T20, to be held in Guyana, St Lucia and Antigua, will be broadcast live, and the DRS will be used in an ICC World T20 for the first time, the International Cricket Council said in a press release on Monday (June 25).

Windies, the defending champions, are clubbed in Group A alongside England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Qualifier 1. Group B comprises Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Qualifier 2, apart from India. The qualifiers will be identified from the Women’s World T20 Qualifier in the Netherlands from July 7 to 14. Two teams out of Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda and the United Arab Emirates will make it to the tournament proper.

Stafanie Taylor, the Windies skipper, welcomed the tournament returning to the Caribbean. “It is great to host the cricket world here in the West Indies,” she said. “This is a great place to play cricket and we know our fans will enjoy every moment of the tournament. It’s extra special as our families and friends will get to see us playing on home soil in a huge international tournament. It is also wonderful to have the cricket world see what the game is like in the region, how we celebrate and enjoy ourselves, and feel the vibes, the music and the culture.”

“We won the last edition in India and that was an amazing feeling. We are now playing at home and it would be even better to win again, this time in front of our supporters at home. We know the grounds, the pitches and most importantly, we know what is required. We’re playing for the people of the West Indies and we want to win again for them.”

It is the second time, after 2010, that the Women’s World T20 will be played in the Caribbean. Each of the preceding five tournaments had been held alongside the men’s competition. The top two teams from each group will make it to the crisscross knockout semifinals.

While Windies are the defending champions, Australia have won the title thrice and England once. England are the current 50-over World Cup winners, having defeated India in an exciting final at Lord’s last July.


Group A: Windies, England, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Qualifier 1

Group B: Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Qualifier 2.

The schedule:

November 9: New Zealand v India, Australia v Pakistan, Windies v Qualifier 1 (all in Guyana)

November 10: England v Sri Lanka (St Lucia)

November 11: India v Pakistan, Australia v Qualifier 1 (both in Guyana)

November 12: England v Qualifier 1, Sri Lanka v South Africa (both in St Lucia)

November 13: Pakistan v Qualifier 2, Australia v New Zealand (both in Guyana)

November 14: Sri Lanka v Qualifier 1, Windies v South Africa (both in St Lucia)

November 15: India v Qualifier 2, New Zealand v Pakistan (both in Guyana)

November 16: England v South Africa, Windies v Sri Lanka (both in St Lucia)

November 17: India v Australia, New Zealand v Qualifier 2 (both in Guyana)

November 18: Windies v England, South Africa v Qualifier 1 (both in St Lucia)

November 22: Semifinal 1s, A1 v B2 and A2 v B1 (both in Antigua)

November 24: Final (Antigua)

November 25: Reserve day for final.