Solomon Mire sustained a gluteal tear during the triangular series. © Getty Images

Solomon Mire sustained a gluteal tear during the triangular series. © Getty Images

Zimbabwe’s already depleted outfit suffered another blow as Solomon Mire and Kyle Jarvis were, on Wednesday (July 11), ruled out of the upcoming five-match One-Day International series against Pakistan.

Mire, who made 63 against Australia during the tri-series at the Harare Sports Club, sustained a gluteal tear during his knock.   

“He will be out for at least three weeks as he concentrates on physiotherapy rehabilitation which aims to speed up healing and make sure the tear heals without tight scar tissue formation,” said Anesu Mupotaringa, the team physiotherapist.

Zimbabwe ODI squad: Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Hamilton Masakadza (captain), Wellington Masakadza, Peter Moor, Ryan Murray, Tarisai Musakanda, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Liam Roche, Donald Tiripano, Malcolm Waller.

Jarvis, meanwhile, fractured his right thumb during the same series and is ruled out for six weeks, meaning Liam Roche, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe and Ryan Murray, who have been included in the squad, are in line for their debuts.

The five-match series against Pakistan kicks off on Friday, and Zimbabwe will bank on the experience of Hamilton Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura, Chamu Chibhabha, Malcolm Waller and the returning Tendai Chatara.

Zimbabwe are without five of their top players – Brendan Taylor, Graeme Cremer, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams and Craig Ervine – owing to yet another payment discord with Zimbabwe Cricket.