Ishwar Pandey picked up three wickets for Madhya Pradesh, his victims being Tamil Nadu's B Indrajith (25), B Aparajith (0) and Malolan Rangarajan (8). © Getty Images

Ishwar Pandey picked up three wickets for Madhya Pradesh, his victims being Tamil Nadu’s B Indrajith (25), B Aparajith (0) and Malolan Rangarajan (8). © Getty Images

On the second day of action in the sixth round of Ranji Trophy 2017-18, Baroda rode on brilliant centuries from Vishnu Solanki and Ninad Rathva to reach a strong position against Odisha.

In other Group C clashes on Saturday (November 18), Madhya Pradesh’s bowlers left Tamil Nadu sweating, and an exciting contest was developing between Andhra and Mumbai.

Andhra v Mumbai in Ongole

After dragging themselves to 332 at the CSR Sharma College ground, Mumbai sent back both of Andhra’s openers early, but the hosts recovered to reach 74 for 2 at stumps.

Andhra lost DB Prasanth Kumar, trapped leg before for 11 by Abhishek Nayar, while Shreyas Iyer ran out Bharat for an identical score. At close, Hanuma Vihari was unbeaten on 29 and Ricky Bhui was on 23.

Earlier, Mumbai resumed the day on 248 for 6, with light drizzle halting play after 14 overs. KV Sasikanth struck twice in the 112th over, bowling out Abhishek Nayar (35), and dismissing Shardul Thakur for a duck a ball later.

Mumbai were 279 for 8 then, but Dhawal Kulkarni, the No. 8 batsman, built partnerships of 24 and 29 with Karsh Kothari and Minad Manjrekar respectively, taking his side past 300. Kulkarni’s innings of 50 off 134 included five boundaries and two sixes.

It was frustrating for Andhra, who might have fancied bowling them out quickly. B Ayyappa was the pick of the lot with 4 for 110.

Baroda v Odisha in Vadodara

Basant Mohanty’s 5 for 85 was overshadowed by centuries from Solanki and Rathva, the 18-year-old debutant, as they lifted Baroda to a massive 503 at the Reliance Stadium.

In reply, Odisha lost Sandeep Pattanaik to Lukman Meriwala for 13, while Govinda Poddar, the captain, was sent back by Vishnu Solanki for 19. Odisha ended the day at 64 for 2 with Natraj Behera and Subhransu Senapati at the crease.

The home side started the day on 281 for 3, but Swapnil Singh (19) only managed to add three more runs to his overnight score before he was out to Suryakant Pradhan. That triggered a bit of a slide as Baroda lost Mitesh Patel (2) and Atit Sheth (2), and Dhruv Patel (16) to Mohanty.

But Ninad Rathva, in at No. 9, got together with Vishnu Solanki, the other overnight batsman, and the two put on a 155-run stand for the eighth wicket. Solanki’s 223-ball 109 was studded with 14 boundaries, while Rathva’s swashbuckling innings of 115 off just 102 deliveries included 18 fours and a six. Rathva’s stunning knock ensured Baroda were well and truly in the driver’s seat at the end.

Madhya Pradesh v Tamil Nadu in Indore

Ishwar Pandey and Puneet Datey rattled Tamil Nadu, reducing them to 191 for 6 at stumps, after Madhya Pradesh were restricted to 264 at the Holkar Stadium.

Datey started the collapse, sending back Abhinav Mukund (5) and Vijay Shankar (0) in the eighth over and later dismissing Washington Sundar for 9. Pandey then accounted for B Indrajith (25), B Aparajith (0) and Malolan Rangarajan (8).

However, Narayan Jagadeesan, the opener, and Yomahesh put up a fight, combining for a crucial 115-run partnership for the seventh wicket to revive Tamil Nadu’s innings. Jagadeesan was unbeaten on 94 with Yomahesh on 44, while the duo of Pandey and Datey finished the day with identical figures of 3 for 36.

Earlier, resuming on 224 for 7, Madhya Pradesh could only add 40 more runs. They lost both their overnight batsmen early. Mihir Hirwani, fell on the fifth ball of the morning for 17 off K Vignesh and Ankit Sharma followed soon after when Narayan Jagadeesan caught him for 77. Pandey slammed a 17-ball 29 before Vignesh wrapped up the innings.