Rajat Patidar scored an unbeaten 51 to lead MP to victory over UP. © Joshua Veernathan

Rajat Patidar scored an unbeaten 51 to lead MP to victory over UP. © Joshua Veernathan

Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh notched up their first wins in the Central Zone leg of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy all-India Twenty20 tournament at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur on Wednesday (January 10).

Madhya Pradesh v Uttar Pradesh

Another batting failure on the part of the Uttar Pradesh batsmen meant Madhya Pradesh had little trouble overhauling a paltry target in an early match on Wednesday (January 10).

The win, by seven wickets, at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur, gave MP their first points of the tournament after they had lost their opening fixture to Rajasthan on Monday. For UP, it was the second loss in as many days.

Asked to bat, UP had no partnership of significance and a highest individual score of 20 as they managed 108 for 7. Rajat Patidar led the chase from the top of the order as MP got to 110 for 3 in 17 overs for a comprehensive victory.

Patidar lost Naman Ojha, his opening partner, for a duck in the first over, bowled by Praveen Kumar. Harpreet Singh, the captain, fell for 12 soon after as Mohsin Khan struck. But Patidar put up a useful stand of 36 with Parth Sahani (17) for the third wicket before Kuldeep Yadav got his only wicket. That’s about as good as it got for UP, as Patidar and Venkatesh Iyer completed the job without much fuss. Patidar ended with an unbeaten 41-ball 51, with five fours and a six, while Iyer finished on 27 not out off 23 balls with two fours.

Earlier, UP got off to a poor start and never recovered. The opening stand was worth only 17, and it was followed by another Suresh Raina failure as he was sent back Ishwar Pandey for one.

There was a little bit of resistance in the middle, with Akshdeep Nath (18 in 16), Rinku Singh (15 in 18) and Sarfaraz Khan (20 in 19) holding fort, but it didn’t add up to much as the lower order – bar Praveen with 15 not out in 20 balls – failed to deliver either.

For MP, Ankit Sharma returned 2 for 22.

Chhattisgarh v Railways

A captain’s knock by Amandeep Khare, along with a three-wicket haul by Shakeeb Ahmed, helped Chhattisgarh post a 25-run win over Railways in the second game of the day.

After Chhattisgarh opted to bat and posted 175 for 5, Railways finished with 150 for 8 in their 20 overs, Mahesh Rawat’s 47-ball 61 going in vain.

Railways did not have an ideal start with Shakeeb Ahmed, the medium pacer, and Ajay Mandal, the left-arm spinner, reducing them to 53 for 5 in seven overs.

Rawat held up one end, stitching a 37-run partnership for the sixth wicket with Chanderpal Saini (20 off 19) and 50 runs for the seventh with Anureet Singh (14 off 10), but it was not enough.

Shakeeb was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 27 to his name, while Mandal returned with 2 for 29.

Earlier, Chhattisgarh rode on Amandeep Khare’s quick-fire 57-ball 90 studded with seven fours and two sixes.  Despite losing Sahil Gupta, the opener, and Rishabh Tiwari, at one drop, cheaply, Khare found able partners in Ashutosh Singh (19) and Shakeeb Ahmed (16) with whom he added 31 runs each for the third and fourth wicket respectively.

The final push came in the form of a swift 76-run partnership for the fifth wicket between Khare and Manoj Singh (21 off 15) before the latter retired hurt. Vishal Kushwah’s cameo (15 off 4) ensured Chhattisgarh finished strongly.

For Railways, Amit Mishra, the medium pacer, took 2 for 30.